Case Study - Yello App

A brand new app to bring Yello into the app-first era
Client
Yello Strom GmbH
Area
Product Experience
Release date
May 2023
Platforms
iOS & Android

Overview

For more than two decades, Yello has reliably supplied around 900,000 people in Germany with gas and electricity. From the very beginning, the energy provider from Cologne relied on a web-based service. Yello's mission: to make energy consumption transparent and simple for their customers.

Facing pressure from new competitors and a rapidly changing digital environment, Yello continually strives to provide top-level customer experience. The company turned to DUMBO to help it transition its leadership into the app-first era. And we gladly took on the challenge.

WHAT WE DID

  • Design strategy & vision for transformation
  • Detailed design of first app and high-fidelity prototyping
  • Creative direction and quality assurance
  • Cross-functional collaboration with multiple teams
  • Setting up an app design system
  • Translation of brand language for mobile
  • Training for Yello designers during handoff

We want to inspire our customers with excellent digital services. With DUMBO, we have found a partner who stands by our side with the highest quality standards, excellence in design and full commitment.

Henrik Ehrhardt
Product Owner, Yello
Eine Want voller Stromzähler

Customer retention in a faceless market

33 %

increase in German energy consumption by 2030 is forecasted, driven by an increase in electric vehicles and heating.

81 %

of consumers want their energy provider to play an active role in enhancing their service journey.

We worked with Yello to transform the passive relationship customers have with their energy supplier into an ongoing dialog. This is because the contact that customers generally have with their energy provider is limited to the annual statement – which, in the worst case, lands in their lap with an unexpected additional payment that increases their monthly bills. Otherwise, customers rarely hear anything from their provider.

Recognizing that more positive contact builds customer loyalty, Yello turned to DUMBO to lay the foundation for a mobile-first experience and design a new app that becomes the primary touchpoint for all customers. Guided by insights from analysing customer behaviour and market trends, we aimed to foster customer relationships through the app by creating engagement and offering increased transparency. 

Complementing the web format, an app presents new opportunities to offer a closer and more personal touchpoint. We aimed to leverage newer technologies to enhance the entire customer journey and create new habits throughout the customer’s lifetime. 

Highlights

01 The whole energy budget at a glance How we help to monitor the energy budget.
02 New inspiration for a playful approach to energy The balance between cost and consumption.
03 Fast solutions through efficient self-service How we provide the right help at the right time.
04 Full of good energy! Yello’s Branded Interaction The Yello brand in interactions.
05 United in diversity through common UX patterns Interactions that shape the experience.

The whole energy budget at a glance

40 %

of German consumers do not know how much electricity their household consumes yearly.

Given the increasing complexity of energy use, it is more important than ever to have a transparent overview of your energy consumption. That’s why users get full transparency over their consumption and gas or electricity costs – to promote sustainable living and economical use of energy.

New inspiration for a playful approach to energy

69 %

of German consumers want more precise and easily accessible information about their overall electricity consumption.

The most critical moment is when the customer receives their year-end invoice. If it is higher or lower than expected, this can cause the customer annoyance and stress. It is therefore crucial to prevent this, and show users in a playful way how to bring their consumption and costs into balance, and what benefits they can reap.

This way, each customer gets a timely heads-up of what to expect on their invoice: an additional payment, or a positive credit.

Fast solutions through efficient self-service

Yello particularly good at recognising the intent of their customers, in order to tailor their offerings to individual needs. To reduce the cost to serve, we have taken self-service to a new level.

By leveraging the existing capabilities, we empower users to find the right help in the right context and at the right time, so that they can resolve contract-related issues quickly and independently.

Full of good energy! Yello’s Branded Interaction

Yello is bursting with good energy! As an energy provider, Yello has a distinctive brand voice that is direct, easy to understand, and sees customers eye-to-eye.
DUMBO reinterpreted these principles in the app to create a streamlined, user-centric app flow. In doing so, we placed special emphasis on micro-interactions and motion to create delightful moments, and convey speed and lightness.

United in diversity through common UX patterns

The Yello app needed to explore new interaction patterns that could be scaled to a variety of use cases. This way, various different interfaces can contribute to a consistent overall user experience while maintaining their own voice and identity.

Working with DUMBO is always intense, challenging, on equal footing and, above all, rewarding. You dig deep into each topics, build a shared understanding of the real problems, identify possibilities and develop suitable solutions. Technically and methodologically precise, yet able to think outside the box - that’s what makes it fun to redesign digital products and services. Great team, great people, great results!

Christina Moritz
Customer Research Manager, Yello

We would like to thank the Yello team, as well as the development team, for the fantastic cooperation we experienced during this project.

Our hopes shine bright for the future of energy as we continue to work together on the long-term vision for the Yello App service experience.

Our insights straight to your inbox

Case Study - Yello App

Eine brandneue App bringt Yello in die app-first-Ära
Kundin
Yello Strom GmbH
Bereich
Product Experience
Release-Datum
Mai 2023
Plattformen
iOS & Android

Überblick

Seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten versorgt Yello rund 900.000 Menschen in Deutschland zuverlässig mit Gas und Strom. Von Anfang an setzte der Energieanbieter aus Köln auf ein webbasiertes Serviceangebot. Die Mission von Yello: den Energieverbrauch für Kundinnen und Kunden transparent und einfach zu machen.

Angesichts des Wettbewerbs mit neuer Konkurrenz und einer sich rasch verändernden digitalen Umgebung strebt Yello weiterhin danach, Customer Experience auf Spitzenniveau zu bieten. Das Unternehmen hat sich an DUMBO gewandt, um seine Vorreiterrolle in die App-First-Ära zu übertragen. Und wir nahmen die Herausforderung gerne an.

Was wir gemacht haben

  • Designstrategie und Vision für die Transformation
  • Detaillierter Entwurf der ersten App und High-Fidelity-Prototyping
  • Creative Direction und Qualitätssicherung
  • Funktionsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren Teams
  • App-Designsystem aufsetzen
  • Übersetzung der Markensprache für Mobile
  • Training für Yello-Designer:innen während der Übergabe

Wir wollen unseren Kunden und Kundinnen mit exzellenten, digitalen Services begeistern. Mit DUMBO haben wir einen Partner gefunden, der mit höchstem Qualitätsanspruch, Exzellenz im Design und vollem Commitment an unserer Seite steht.

Henrik Ehrhardt
Product Owner, Yello
A grid of multiple round electric meters mounted on a blue wall, with various readings visible.

Kundenbindung in einem Markt ohne Gesicht

33 %

Anstieg im Energieverbrauch prognostiziert bis 2030 wegen E-Autos und Wärmestrom.

81 %

der Verbraucher möchten, dass ihr Energieversorger eine aktive Rolle bei der Verbesserung ihrer Service Journey spielt.

Wir haben mit Yello zusammengearbeitet, um die passive Beziehung, die Kunden zu ihrem Energieversorger haben, in einen kontinuierlichen Dialog zu verwandeln. Denn in der Regel beschränkt sich der Kontakt der Kunden und Kundinnen mit ihrem Energieanbieter auf die jährliche Abrechnung, die im schlimmsten Fall mit einer unerwarteten Nachzahlung ins Haus flattert und anschließend zu einer Erhöhung der monatlichen Abschläge führt. Ansonsten hören Kunden selten etwas von ihrem Anbieter.

Yello hat erkannt, dass mehr positive Kontakte die Kundenbindung stärken und sich an DUMBO gewandt, um den Grundstein für eine mobile-first Experience zu legen und eine neue App zu gestalten, die zum primären Touchpoint für alle Kundinnen und Kunden wird. Geleitet von Erkenntnissen aus Customer Research und Markttrends wollten wir die Kundenbeziehungen durch die App fördern, indem wir Engagement schaffen und mehr Transparenz bieten.

Ergänzend zum Webformat bietet eine App neue Möglichkeiten für einen näheren und persönlicheren Touchpoint. Wir wollten neue Technologien nutzen, um die gesamte Customer Journey zu verbessern und neue Gewohnheiten entlang des Customer Life Cycle aufzubauen.

Highlights

01 Der gesamte Energiehaushalt im Überblick Den Energie-Haushalt überwachen.
02 Neue Impulse für einen spielerischen Zugang zu Energie Die Balance zwischen Kosten und Verbrauch.
03 Schnelle Lösungen durch effizienten Self-Service Die richtige Hilfe zur richtigen Zeit.
04 Voll guter Energie! Die Branded Interaction von Yello Die Marke Yello in Interaktionen.
05 In Vielfalt vereint durch Common UX-Pattern Interaktionen, welche die Experience prägen.

Der gesamte Energiehaushalt im Überblick

40 %

der Menschen in Deutschland wissen nicht, wie viel Strom ihr Haushalt im Jahr verbraucht.

Angesichts der zunehmenden Komplexität der Energienutzung ist es wichtiger denn je, einen transparenten Überblick über den eigenen Energieverbrauch zu haben. Daher bekommen Nutzer:innen volle Transparenz über ihren Verbrauch und ihre Strom- oder Gaskosten. Für ein nachhaltiges Leben und einen sparsamen Umgang mit Energie.

Neue Impulse für einen spielerischen Zugang zu Energie

69 %

der Menschen in Deutschland wünschen sich präzisere und leichter zugängliche Informationen über ihren Stromverbrauch insgesamt.

Der kritischste Moment in der Kundenbeziehung ist die Jahresendabrechnung. Wenn diese höher oder niedriger ausfällt als erwartet, kann dies Ärger und Stress verursachen. Dem gilt es vorzubeugen und auf spielerische Weise zu zeigen, was Nutzer:innen für sich rausholen können und wie sie Verbrauch und Kosten in Balance bringen. So weiß jeder rechtzeitig, was mit deiner Rechnung ins Haus flattert: Nachzahlung oder eine Gutschrift.

Schnelle Lösungen durch effizienten Self-Service

Yello ist besonders gut darin, die Absicht ihrer Kundinnen und Kunden zu erkennen, um ihr Serviceangebot individuell auf die Bedürfnisse hin auszurichten. Um die Cost to Serve zu reduzieren, haben wir den Self-Service auf ein neues Level gehoben. Indem wir die bestehenden Ressourcen und Funktionen optimal einsetzen, versetzen wir die Nutzer:innen in die Lage, die richtige Hilfe im richtigen Kontext und zur richtigen Zeit zu finden, damit sie alles rund um ihren Vertrag schnell und unabhängig lösen können.

Voll guter Energie! Die Branded Interaction von Yello

Yello sprüht nur so vor guter Energie! Als Energieanbieter hat Yello eine unverwechselbare Markensprache, die direkt, leicht verständlich und immer auf Augenhöhe ist.

DUMBO hat diese Prinzipien in der App neu interpretiert und einen schlanken, nutzerzentrierten App-Flow geschaffen. Dabei haben wir besonderen Wert auf Micro Interactions und Motion gelegt, um Highlights zu setzen und zugleich die Schnelligkeit und Leichtigkeit zu transportieren.

In Vielfalt vereint durch Common UX-Pattern

Die Yello App sollte neue Interaktionspattern erkunden, welche sich in unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsfällen skalieren lassen. Sodass unterschiedlichste User Interface zu einer konsistenten User Experience beitragen und gleichzeitig die eigene Stimme und Identität bewahren können.

Minimalist mobile app design displaying a 'Sheet Modal' and a 'Bottom-Tab Enrichment' with a prompt to update consumption data in German.
Stylized smartphone interface showcasing a 'Toast' notification with the message 'Nachricht gesendet' and a 'Service Note' scheduling a callback for Wednesday at 15:40.
Two smartphone interfaces showing a 'Ceiling Banner' with an error message and 'Context Tiles' suggesting the automation of payments in German.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit DUMBO ist immer intensiv, herausfordernd, auf Augenhöhe und vor allem ein Gewinn. Man kniet sich tief hinein in die Themen, baut gemeinsames Verständnis für die wirklichen Probleme auf, erkennt die Möglichkeiten und entwickelt passende Lösungen. Fachlich und methodisch präzise und trotzdem fähig, oft genug um die Ecke zu denken – so macht es Spaß digitale Produkte und Services neu zu gestalten. Tolles Team, tolle Menschen und großartige Ergebnisse!

Christina Moritz
Customer Research Manager, Yello

Wir danken dem Yello Team, wie auch dem Entwicklungsteam für die fantastische Zusammenarbeit, die wir während dieses Projekts erleben durften.

Unsere Hoffnungen für die Zukunft der Energie strahlen hell, während wir weiterhin gemeinsam an der langfristigen Vision für die digitale Experience von Yello arbeiten.

Unsere Insights direkt in dein Postfach